It’s ok to cry on an adventures

I came to India with the mindset that it’s an adventure. Seeing it as an adventure encourages me to live the adventure for all its worth in both the good experiences and the not so good. If it’s an adventure you don’t give up when it’s hard because this is what makes it an adventure. My favourite adventure is the trilogy of the Lord of the Rings. My dad read all 3 books, and also the Hobbit, to me as a child and who know he was preparing my mind for my very own adventure.

Just over a year ago I prayed Lord I want to have an adventure with you. I could never imagine the richness of where I would end up, the opportunities that he would offer and the way in which God would stir my heart. I know that I am blessed, immeasurably more than I could ever imagine…it’s exciting and thrilling. It has awaken more of who God has created me to be and I like that!

God has also blessed me in the friends he has brought into the adventure. Friends who are simply great to be with who bless and inspire and encourage me.  People who have seen my potential and are willing to see it released.  Yet in the nature of this adventure is people come but also people have to go. I know God has blessed me with a soft heart which he has set within me to be a thing of beauty. For many years I hated it, not knowing what to do with it except try as hard as I could to hide it so know one could hurt it. It never worked it just meant that the hurt was hidden deep where it couldn’t be seen. I have grown to a place where I don’t ever want to harden. I want God to use my willingness to be vulnerable and open to see his glory not mine. So it is with a soft heart it is so hard to say good bye without knowing if it is for a short time or for a lifetime. The unknowns of who or what will be part of the next part of the adventure is both exciting and painful.

“Remember what Bilbo used to say: It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”…when you put it like that Bilbo I’m quite glad I’m on an adventure.”

What Bilbo says reminds I don’t want to go back to a safe life. In recognising that it’s dangerous to start the adventure, it reminds that it’s ok to feel like this…”it’s ok to cry on an adventure” and I’d rather this than the alternative.

5 comments
  1. Thank you Kat,
    some real treasures and great to know where you’re at amidst this adventure. Efat (if you spell it like that) was asking after you and sends her love.
    Xx

    • katflap said:

      Thank you! And please tell Efat I say hi and send my love!! You can tell her I’m learning a bit of Hindi!

  2. Janette Hall said:

    I am glad your adventure is getting to the real you and you are rising to the challenge. I am very proud of you and love you very much.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxMum

  3. Peter hall said:

    Hello kiddo!

    I enjoy reading your writings!

  4. Anne said:

    Hi, glad to read this – and really enjoy the Bilbo quote! Bit like C S Lewis – Aslan – he’s not safe! but He’s good…

Leave a Reply

