The beginnings of an Indian adventure


Since the 6th of December I have been in India. What was meant to be a 2 month trip to explore this amazing country has become a 5month trip and possibly my home for at least the next year or two in September. Falling in love with India was not something that crept up on me, instead it was instant. My heart was captured and India isn’t letting go!

What interested me about India when I was a child was the wonderful craft objects that come out of India, and also the colour and vibrance. But this is not how I ended up in India it was purely through the opportunities offered to me by the connections of a friend who had spent a year in India…a convenient travel opportunity to travel.

Since arriving in India I have had many rich experiences.  One of the most special was having dinner with a women and her daughter and grandchildren thanks to a my friend Merete who had been invited and took me along too. Her home is not in a slum but more a semi permeant home like that of shanty towns yet it still could be demolished as it has no legal right to be there. She opened her heart and her home to us, cooking a beautiful meal. Something she said will never leave me and neither  will the promise I made to myself as a result of it. She said you eat our food and drank our water and everyone else who comes on outreach will always refuse, even other Indians. I understand that people are concerned about illness…it’s not exactly fun i know! As she said this it so touched my heart. Out of the fear that is so prominent in western culture we create barriers that are broken when we are truly willing to treat others as equals putting aside fear. I promised myself that whether I got ill or not now or in the future, which I didn’t, I will always share food and water because these people matter. I want to share the love that I know and equality that the bible so clearly speaks of. With so much discrimination and lack of the simple right to have the dignity to be treated like anyone else absent in India left over from the Caste system which is meant to now be illegal and extreme imbalance between rich and poor, I will not be a art of it.

3 comments
  1. Vickie said:

    Beautiful Kat… well-expressed! xxx

    • katflap said:

      thank you its really encouraging that you say that!

  2. isaacwjones said:

    Boom! I knew it – you fall in love with it immediately!

Leave a Reply

