I can

I recently got invited to Thinkpublic for a design clinic which I applied to attend. Thinkpublic are a really interesting design studio…as case of does what the tin says! We had to do a pecha-kucha presentation to the group. I did my presentation on why I want to be a designer. The long and short of it was I think design can change the world and I want to see social change and ethical change in the way we live our lives. The picture above is from a slide about one of my motivations a verse from the bible “Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for the rights of all who are destitute. Speak up and judge fairly; defend the rights of the poor and needy.”  To see the rest of the slides go to flickr.

Another recent adventure was my attempt with my friend Sam to walk to Brighton from London…Clapham North to be exact. The day for our adventure was the friday it snowed. Everyone said we were stupid to even try but this didn’t bother us at all…as someone said to Sam ‘people have done harder things’. The first 10 or so miles was all London and suprisingly drepressing but once we got out to the country it was so beautiful. We found walking in the snow hard work so 18 hours, 2 pub stops, some other stops, lots of chocolate and 45miles later we had to stop. Stopping only 12miles short was hard but in those 12miles were the South Downs whih after 45miles of walking in the snow we weren’t going to be able to physically get over. So anyone who fancies a walk to Brighton go for it…and of course you can do it (but aovid the snow it will be your downfall), it’s amazing, an epic adventure! I’d love to see a uprising of the attitude of I can NOT…I can’t! Do stuff!

2 comments
  1. That’s a great story! I’m amazed you did it in the snow and got so far – well done. And I love Think Public (we use loads of their ideas and processes at school). Hope you have a great 2010.

    • katflap said:

      I know thinking back it’s mad…45miles! But typically didn’t injury myself then but this evening while out running I managed to slip on the only bit of ice in South East London! My knee is not quite the right shape…although could have been worse I could have really hurt something or broken somethin, just a dented ego! I hope you have a wonderful 2010 too!

Leave a Reply

