Where I’m at…I love knitting like a fat kid loves Cake

tangled_messnot unlike what ideas in my head look like when i cant put them properly in words or anything conceivable

My project seems to be a process of clarifying or finding. After a very helpful dislexo tutorial which has had a significant roll in this…in my tutorial I was able to vocalise what was more essentially feelings…which really more like feelings than ideas…this is what we came up with through my tutor questioning me…

My project and therefore my context report is about What is knitting. My approach in considering this is not the techniqual but the emotional definitions, which is a boundaryless definition due to the personnel experience. What is knitting to the individual knitter instead of the broad generic clumsey answers. My intention in exploring what is knitting is to allow me to communicate these uses of knitting to show the potential of knitting to a wider audience who has very preconceived ideas of what knitting is. I do not want to create neo uses of knitting but to broaden the understanding of what it already is.
I see the position of my project on the boundaries of design and craft and also art. In my context report I intend to; speak in more detail about what my project is about, talk about the formation of the concept, document and discuss the responses to what knitting is and also my responses to this, and the value of the artifact produced my knitting.

Some of the emotional definitions already realised…
Time-passing
feeling useful
fills loneliness
grieving
making sense/unravelling
capturing of moments
self-expression
expression of a concept
recordings of moment in the process
achievement
expression of care and love…

I have been trying to design in response to these emotional defintion

img_21441

img_2145

These drawings play with the obvious areas of forced ‘calming down’ and draw the calming qualities of knitting into them.

What knitting is for many people is a way of relaxing and I wanted to embody this in the process and add a visual element to of the comfort. Excusing the poor drawing as this is knit it creates a relaxing cocoon which transends (not sure thats the right word) the feeling of relaxing in the process

img_21472

“its proof that I can actually accomplish something” Sarah Kelly

img_2143I am making a knitted trophey which i will do a pattern for, so that the outcome is a recognised presentation of achievement. This makes the object related to the feeling of what knitting is.

“My knitting is showing people how much I love and care about them.” Again this is a common definition of what knitting is which is where I have started looking at the value of the artefact. I wanted to show the value of knitting as numeric as it is quite an abstract undefinded thing where much of the value is not realised by the reciever. This is my intervention to educate the reciever it is not meant to be a contridiction to the giving by which i mean its not meant to a way of the giver boasting how much they put in but me showing the investment that is not realised through the abstractness of the value. In the way a pedometer records the number of steps taken i want to make a stitchometer which will count the stitches. I want to do this to show the reciever what they are getting and what has been invested…stitches, time, rows…

sp_a0281sp_a0282

This is what the stitchometer would love like incorporated into the needle.

img_2150

img_2151

The potential for the stitchometer is to use bluetooth technology to make the information accesiable on the internet as it is sent to the computer which can be checked by the reciever.

Or

img_2154img_2155

possible ways to represent it

img_2148img_2152

both the drawings are like maps that relate to time passing and knitting activity and the shape of the knitting.

An area I want to look at is a ‘economy of benefit’…a system of interaction and exchange that promotes well being and shows acts of kindness which is looking at knitting and its altruistic (a borrowed term not that i think the person will mind) nature.

Sorry this is such a long one!

Leave a Reply

