accomplishment

As peoples s continue to arrive in my various inboxes, I am trying to design for or play with the reasons that people knit and what people see knitting as. Today I began making a trophy from wood that will be covered in knitting…a pattern will follow that can be stuffed like a toy that people can make. I know that I dont have to make it from wood but it helps to build the pattern and I am learning to turn wood which I haven’t really done before. The reason behind my knitting trophy madness was it was a play on a response, from an woman who is a member of the Anticraft forum, to why knitting, “its proof that I can actually accomplish something.” People knit for so many reasons and this element of achievement and the satisfaction from completing something is what I want to capture in this pattern, its a record of achievement and completion of the project.

Leave a Reply

